Hockey Canada Network |  Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwest Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North
Call Us Now E-Mail Us Now
Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Apple Android Shopping Cart
BC Hockey Logo

Awards - Hockey Canada

BC Hockey is a member branch of Hockey Canada and our members are therefore eligible for Hockey Canada Awards. Some of these awards are presented as a part of Hockey Canada Week while others are presented at the end of the season in conjunction with either the BC Hockey Annual General Meeting or the Hockey Canada Annual General Meeting.

Hockey Canada Officiating Awards

These awards are given in recognition of outstanding service during the season. The categories of the awards are most promising, most improved and most deserving official. BC Hockey recognizes the recipients of Hockey Canada Officiating Awards at the BC Hockey Annual Congress.

2016 - 2017 Winners

Most Deserving

Rupert Xu

(Vancouver, BC)

Most Improved

Jamie Terron

(Castlegar, BC)

Most Promising

Megan Howes

(Burnaby, BC)

These awards are given to for exceptional service to hockey. For most of the awards, only one recipient is selected from the entire country each year. Many of these awards are presented at the Hockey Canada Annual General Meeting.Hockey Canada Annual Awards

Hockey Canada Volunteer of the Year

This award is presented to an individual who has contributed to amateur hockey for many years and has had a notable impact on the game. Contribution may be in the form of participation, administration, innovation or the advancement of amateur hockey through media coverage. The award is presented at the Hockey Canada Annual General Meeting. This award was first given in 1976.

BC Recipients:


Nancy Wilson

London, ON


Allan Matthews

Williams Lake , BC


Don Freer

Victoria , BC


Bob Mullock

Port Moody,BC

Gordon Juckes Award

The Gordon Juckes Award is given to an individual who has contributed significantly to amateur hockey at the National level. Nominees can come from multiple fields, including research, sports medicine, psychology, coaching, officiating, administration or related categories. The award is presented in hounour of Gordon Jukckes, Hockey Canada’s first full-time Executive Director (1960-1977). He is a Life Member of Hockey Canada and an Honouary Member of the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF). The Gordon Juckes Award was first presented in 1981.

BC Recipients: 


Ted Hargreaves

Nelson, BC


Dr. Howie Wenger

Victoria , BC


Colin Patterson

Cranbrook , BC


Bob Hindmarch

Vancouver , BC

Hockey Canada Order of Merit

The Hockey Canada Order of Merit is awarded to individuals who have served amateur hockey over many years and through their service have made outstanding contributions to amateur hockey in Canada. More than one award may be presented each year. These awards were first presented in 1962.

BC Recipients:



Bill Ennos

Frank Lento

Victoria, BC

Fernie , BC


Don Schmaltz

Penticton , BC


Bob Mullock

Vancouver ,BC


Dr. Leo Margolis

Nanaimo , BC


Frank Spring

Cranbrook , BC


W.J. Anderson

Trail, BC


Leo Atwell

Nelson, BC


Art Jefferd

Vancouver , BC

Female Hockey Breakthrough Award

This award annually recognizes an individual for his or her significant contributions to the advancement of Canadian female hockey. 
Show All Winners

BC Hockey is a non-profit organization and member of Hockey Canada in charge of governing amateur hockey at all levels in British Columbia and the Yukon Territory.

Approximately 150 minor hockey associations, 55,000 players, 4,500 referees, 20,000 official volunteers and countless others make our great game possible here in Pacific Canada.



BC Hockey News

BC Hockey Locker Room (online store)

Events Calendar


Female AAA League
Female Program of Excellence
BC Hockey AAA Leagues
Male Program of Excellence
Site Map

Copyright © 2014 BC Hockey - Saanichton, BC