Hockey Canada Network |  Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Saskatchewan Hockey Association Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwest Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North
Call Us Now E-Mail Us Now
Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Apple Android
BC Hockey Logo

Awards - Hockey Canada Annual Awards

The Hockey Canada Volunteer of the Year is presented to an individual who has contributed to amateur hockey for many years and has had a notable impact on the game. Contribution may be in the form of participation, administration, innovation or the advancement of amateur hockey through media coverage. The award is presented at the Hockey Canada Annual General Meeting. This award was first given in 1976.


BC Recipients:

2014 Nancy Wilson London, ON


Allan Matthews

Williams Lake , BC


Don Freer

Victoria , BC


Bob Mullock

Port Moody,BC


The Gordon Juckes Award is given to an individual who has contributed significantly to amateur hockey at the National level. Nominees can come from multiple fields, including research, sports medicine, psychology, coaching, officiating, administration or related categories. The award is presented in hounour of Gordon Jukckes, Hockey Canada’s first full-time Executive Director (1960-1977). He is a Life Member of Hockey Canada and an Honouary Member of the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF). The Gordon Juckes Award was first presented in 1981.


BC Recipients: 


Ted Hargreaves

Nelson, BC


Dr. Howie Wenger

Victoria , BC


Colin Patterson

Cranbrook , BC


Bob Hindmarch

Vancouver , BC


The Hockey Canada Order of Merit is awarded to individuals who have served amateur hockey over many years and through their service have made outstanding contributions to amateur hockey in Canada. More than one award may be presented each year. These awards were first presented in 1962.


BC Recipients:



Bill Ennos

Frank Lento

Victoria, BC

Fernie , BC


Don Schmaltz

Penticton , BC


Bob Mullock

Vancouver ,BC


Dr. Leo Margolis

Nanaimo , BC


Frank Spring

Cranbrook , BC


W.J. Anderson

Trail, BC


Leo Atwell

Nelson, BC


Art Jefferd

Vancouver , BC


The Female Hockey Breakthrough Award annually recognizes an individual for his or her significant contributions to the advancement of Canadian female hockey. Nominees may come from the following fields: coaching, officiating, research, administration, marketing, promotion or events / special projects. The award is presented at the Hockey Canada Annual General Meeting and was first given in 1998.


BC Recipients:


Karen Wallace

Surrey , BC


The Hal Lewsi Award hounors a Hockey Canada staff member who best exhibits the values and objectives of the organization, pride and respect for its participants and demonstrates team spirit in and outside of the office. The award was first presented in 2001. A BC resident has yet to receive the award.


The Liz MacKinnon Award recognizes the contribution of a companion of a Hockey Canada staff member. The award is presented at the Hockey Canada Annual General Meeting and was first given in 2001. A BC resident has yet to receive the award.


The Officiating Life Time Achievement Award recognizes an official, active or not, who has been involved for at least 25 years and an official / administrator. This individual has had a significant impact on the game of hockey at the Branch and National level. The award is presented at the Hockey Canada Annual General Meeting and was first given in 2005. A BC resident has yet to receive the award.


For more information about Hockey Canada Awards, please visit the Hockey Canada website.

BC Hockey is a non-profit organization and member branch of Hockey Canada in charge of governing amateur hockey at all levels in British Columbia and the Yukon Territory.

Approximately 150 minor hockey associations, 55,000 players, 4,500 referees, 20,000 official volunteers and countless others make our great game possible here in Pacific Canada.



BC Hockey News
Events Calendar


Female AAA League
Female High Performance
Major Midget League
Male High Performance
Site Map

Google Play Store
Copyright © 2014 BC Hockey - Saanichton, BC