Hockey Canada Network |  Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Saskatchewan Hockey Association Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwest Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North

Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Apple Android Shopping Cart
BC Hockey Logo

News - Details

Northern Capitals Claim Mac’s Tournament Title
Monday, January 4, 2016

The Female Midget AAA (FMAAA) Northern Capitals won the prestigious Mac’s Midget AAA World Invitational Tournament, defeating the Rocky Mountain Raiders 5-1 in the Championship game on January 1, 2016 in Calgary, Alberta.

The Capitals went 6-0 in the tournament, defeating the Melville Prairie Fire (Saskatchewan Female Midget AAA Hockey League - SFMAAAHL), Calgary Fire (Alberta Major Midget Female Hockey League - AMMFHL), Kootenay Wild (FMAAA) and Vancouver Island Seals (FMAAA) in group play before moving on to the semifinals. The Capitals then faced off against the Fraser Valley Rush (FMAAA) for a chance to move on to the Championship game, and won 4-0, with Kelsey Roberts (Kitimat) posting the shutout and Sage Desjardins (Prince George), Kenna Lloyd (Prince George), Sydney Jordan (Prince George) and Jordan Shanks (Prince George) netting goals.

They then moved on to the finals against the Rocky Mountain Raiders (AMMFHL). The Raiders took a 1-0 lead early in the first period, but the Capitals found the net in the second, with Desjardins and Hunter Mosher (Chetwynd) scoring within 43 seconds of each other to claim a 2-1 lead. Less than two (2) minutes later, Nichol went top shelf to make it 4-1, and 32 seconds later Desjardins got her second goal of the game to make it 5-1. Roberts stopped 23 of 24 shots in the win. 

Throughout the tournament, the Capitals dominated, scoring 18 goals while allowing just four (4) goals against. The Capitals are currently in second place in the FMAAA with a 14-5-2 record. FMAAA play resumes on January 8, 2016, with the first place Greater Vancouver Comets hosting the Vancouver Island Seals, the Fraser Valley Rush hosting the Kootenay Wild, and the Northern Capitals hosting the Thompson-Okanagan Lakers. 

The invitation-only tournament has been held annually since 1978. The tournament is played at several arenas around Calgary, with the championship game being played at the Saddledome, home of the Calgary Flames. The tournament draws more than 100,000 spectators over seven (7) days, with the championship game drawing 10,000 fans alone.

The FMAAA program consists of six (6) zone-based teams across the province – the Fraser Valley Rush (Langley), Greater Vancouver Comets (Coquitlam), Kootenay Wild (Nelson), Northern Capitals (Prince George), Thompson-Okanagan Lakers (Vernon), and Vancouver Island Seals (Campbell River). The teams play a 30 game regular season, followed by the playoffs. The FMAAA Champion has the opportunity to compete for the ESSO Cup, Hockey Canada's National Female Midget Championship, which will take place in Weyburn, Saskatchewan from April 19 - 25, 2016.

The FMAAA program was initiated in the 2007-2008 season in response to the membership’s desire to provide an opportunity for elite female hockey players to come together on zone teams to challenge other elite female Midget teams. The league has had nearly 100 players move on to post-secondary hockey opportunities.

For more information about the BC FMAAA program, please visit the website at or email

For more information about BC Hockey, please visit the BC Hockey website at or email or follow along through social media at,, or



BC Hockey is a not-for-profit organization and member branch of Hockey Canada in charge of governing amateur hockey at all levels in British Columbia and the Yukon Territory.

Approximately 150 minor hockey associations, 55,000 players, 4,500 referees, 20,000 official volunteers and countless others make our great game possible here in Pacific Canada.



BC Hockey News

Male High Performance Program

Female Midget AAA League


MML News



BC Hockey


Events Calendar


BC Hockey Site Map

Copyright © 2014 BC Hockey - Saanichton, BC