Hockey Canada Network |  Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Saskatchewan Hockey Association Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwest Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North

Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Apple Android Shopping Cart
BC Hockey Logo

News - Details

2015-2016 Major Midget League Coach of the Year
Wednesday, April 20, 2016


BC Hockey announced April 20, 2016 that Cariboo Cougars head coach Trevor Sprague has been named the 2015-2016 Major Midget League (MML) Coach of the Year.

Sprague currently serves as the coach and general manager of the Cougars, and also works with the Western Hockey League’s (WHL) Prince George Cougars as a regional scout.

Sprague led the Cougars to a 29-8-3 record during the regular season, finishing in second place with 61 points. The team lost in the MML Championship series to the Valley West Hawks, but his young team exceeded expectations after losing two (2) of their best players in December.

Sprague also brings the Cougars success off the ice, building the team’s alumni program and acquiring numerous sponsorships, giving the team a high profile within the community. The Cougars have also been very community-oriented, and held two (2) fundraising initiatives this season, raising nearly $10,000 for breast cancer and mental health awareness.

This is the seventh year the MML Coach of the Year Award has been presented. Sprague previously won the award during the 2009-2010 season. Other winners include Jamie Jackson (Vancouver North East Chiefs, 2014-2015), Tom Spencer (2013-2014, Valley West Hawks), Clint Thornton (2012-2013, Vancouver North West Giants), Todd Harkins (2011-2012, Vancouver North West Giants), Ryan Weber and Rob Rogers (2010-2011, Valley West Hawks).

The MML was established in 2004 to provide elite level 15, 16 and 17 year olds an opportunity to play within their own age group at a high level and be developed for the next level of hockey. These teams have an opportunity each year to compete for the TELUS Cup, Canada’s National Midget Championship, which will take place in Prince George, BC in April 2017.

For more information about the MML, please visit the league’s website at, follow along on social media at, or email us at




BC Hockey is a not-for-profit organization and member branch of Hockey Canada in charge of governing amateur hockey at all levels in British Columbia and the Yukon Territory.

Approximately 150 minor hockey associations, 55,000 players, 4,500 referees, 20,000 official volunteers and countless others make our great game possible here in Pacific Canada.



BC Hockey News

Male High Performance Program

Female Midget AAA League


MML News



BC Hockey


Events Calendar


BC Hockey Site Map

Copyright © 2014 BC Hockey - Saanichton, BC