Hockey Canada Network |  Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Saskatchewan Hockey Association Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwest Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North

Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Apple Android Shopping Cart
BC Hockey Logo

News - Details

Greater Vancouver Comets Claim FMAAA Championship
Saturday, March 24, 2018

The Greater Vancouver Comets won their second straight league title, after sweeping the Fraser Valley Rush in two (2) games to claim the 2017-2018 Female Midget AAA (FMAAA) Championship at Planet Ice in Coquitlam.

The Comets took game one (1) 3-0, as Jenn Gardiner (Surrey) got the Comets on the board, scoring the game’s first goal with 10 seconds remaining in the second period. Midway through the third period, Priya Sidhu (Surrey) would give Greater Vancouver a two (2) goal cushion before Nina Jobst-Smith (North Vancouver) scored an empty-net goal to secure the win. Kaitlyn Daly (Coquitlam) was exceptional in the Comet goal earning the shutout.

Game two (2) was a nail-biter as the Comets would earn the title thanks to a 2-1 overtime win over the Rush. Again, the game’s first goal would come in the second period as Greater Vancouver’s Jenna Buglioni (Port Moody) would open the scoring. It wasn’t until the third period, with nine (9) minutes remaining, that Fraser Valley would answer as Cassidy Wait (North Vancouver) would tie the game and set it to overtime. In the extra frame, Jenn Gardiner would notch the winner for Greater Vancouver and give them the FMAAA title.

The Comets finished in first place in the regular season after a 29-2-1 record during the year. They had a first-round bye in the playoffs and then defeated the Thompson-Okanagan Lakers two (2) games to none in the league semi-final. The Rush earned their way to the final after beating the Vancouver Island Seals.

Greater Vancouver will take on the champion of the Alberta Major Midget Female Hockey League (AFHL) from April 6-8, 2018 in the Pacific Midget Female Regionals for the right to represent the Pacific region at the 2018 ESSO Cup taking place April 22-28 in Bridgewater, N.S.

The FMAAA program consists of five (5) zone-based teams that are spread across the province – the Fraser Valley Rush (Langley), Greater Vancouver Comets (Coquitlam), Northern Capitals (Prince George), Thompson-Okanagan Lakers (Vernon), and Vancouver Island Seals (Shawnigan Lake). The teams play a 30 game regular season, followed by the playoffs.

The FMAAA program was initiated in the 2007-2008 season in response to the membership’s desire to provide an opportunity for elite female hockey players to come together on zone teams to challenge other elite female Midget teams. The league has had nearly 100 players move on to post-secondary hockey opportunities.

For more information about the BC FMAAA program, please visit the website at or email

For more information about BC Hockey, please visit the BC Hockey website at or email



BC Hockey is a not-for-profit organization and member branch of Hockey Canada in charge of governing amateur hockey at all levels in British Columbia and the Yukon Territory.

Approximately 150 minor hockey associations, 55,000 players, 4,500 referees, 20,000 official volunteers and countless others make our great game possible here in Pacific Canada.



BC Hockey News

Male High Performance Program

Female Midget AAA League


MML News



BC Hockey


Events Calendar


BC Hockey Site Map

Copyright © 2014 BC Hockey - Saanichton, BC