Hockey Canada Network |  Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Saskatchewan Hockey Association Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwest Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North
Call Us Now E-Mail Us Now
Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Apple Android
BC Hockey Logo

News - Details

BC Hockey Announces Scholarship Recipients
Wednesday, June 27, 2007

BC Hockey awards several scholarships each year to deserving BC Hockey players to help them fund pursuits in higher education.

"We congratulate this year's recipients of BC Hockey Scholarships,” said BC Hockey Officer at Large Shannon Bell. “These recipients have all excelled in both their academic achievements and contributions to their communities and the game of hockey province wide."

The recipients were acknowledged at a ceremony on Saturday at the BC Hockey Annual General Meeting.

The 2006-2007 BC Hockey Scholarship recipients are: 


MHA / Team

Ryan Cunningham

MML Kootenay Ice

Scott Soles

Golden MHA

Patrick Sullivan

North Shore Winter Club

Kyle Lochert

MML Fraser Valley Bruins

Cory Wein

Greater Vernon MHA

Jamie Leveille

MML NW Giants

Kelsey Holkestad

Surrey Female

Michael McKenna

North Delta

Hayley Sutherland

South Vancouver Isl. Breakers

Devan Porter

Terrace MHA

Blakley Lewis

Greater Vernon MHA

The Bruce Allison Scholarship is awarded in memory of the late Bruce Allison of Richmond. Allison was BC Hockey’s 26th president. He was instrumental in establishing and pursuing scholarship opportunities for members of BC Hockey and advocated the pursuit of educational goals through hockey excellence.

The Jeff Butler Scholarship is awarded in memory of the late Jeff Butler who was fatally injured during a Junior A game in September 1985. Butler was a dedicated young man with rare qualities of character and determination.

The Ted Hargreaves Scholarship is awarded in the memory of the late Ted Hargreaves of Nelson who was an integral part of hockey development and coaching. He also combined his passion for hockey with his artistic abilities, illustrating instructional manuals for Hockey Canada.

The BF Lorenzetti Scholarship is the top scholarship awarded by BC Hockey. It is sponsored by Hockey Canada’s insurance provider BF Lorenzetti.

The Memorial Scholarships and general scholarships are awarded to recognize and enhance the opportunities presented when furthering one’s education.

Applications for the scholarships were submitted between January 15 and April 30 and reviewed by a selection committee. Monetary awards vary from $500 to $1,500. BC Hockey scholarships are available to any BC Hockey member (or past BC Hockey member playing in the WHL) in their graduating year of high school.

For more information about BC Hockey, email




BC Hockey is a non-profit organization and member branch of Hockey Canada in charge of governing amateur hockey at all levels in British Columbia and the Yukon Territory.

Approximately 150 minor hockey associations, 55,000 players, 4,500 referees, 20,000 official volunteers and countless others make our great game possible here in Pacific Canada.



BC Hockey News
Events Calendar


Female AAA League
Female High Performance
Major Midget League
Male High Performance
Site Map

Google Play Store
Copyright © 2014 BC Hockey - Saanichton, BC