Hockey Canada Network |  Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Saskatchewan Hockey Association Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwest Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North
Call Us Now E-Mail Us Now
Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Apple Android Shopping Cart
BC Hockey Logo

News - Details

Male U17 BC Cup Rosters
Wednesday, April 15, 2009

BC Hockey announced today the rosters for the Male U17 BC Cup at the Sunwave Centre in Salmon Arm, BC from April 30 – May 3, 2009.  The top 120 male U17 hockey players born in 1993 from across BC will be attending this prestigious event.

Male U17 BC Cup Rosters (PDF)

Over 3,000 players are eligible for participation at the U17 district camps and are evaluated throughout the season, a process coordinated by BC Hockey district evaluators. 46 players from each district were invited by the District Evaluator, to attend their District Camp.  There were 276 players in total invited to attend six (6) District Camps across BC.  The players must be born in 1993, reside in BC and be male.

The BC Hockey Male Under 17 High Performance Program is an introduction to International High Performance Hockey which involves a series of short term camps and competitions just as our national teams are exposed to it at a higher level. In addition, the Under 17 program is a pre-cursor to the well-established Hockey Canada Program of Excellence, consisting Canada’s Under 18, World Junior and Men’s National Teams.

Some notable BC Hockey Male High Performance graduates who have competed in the Program include:

  • Joe Sakic of the Colorado Avalanche (Team Lower Mainland 1985) 
  • Scott Niedermayer of the Anaheim Ducks (Team Kootenay 1989) 
  • Rob Niedermayer of the Anaheim Ducks (Team Kootenay 1990) 
  • Paul Kariya of the St. Louis Blues (Team Lower Mainland 1990) 
  • Shawn Horcoff of the Edmonton Oilers (Team Kootenay 1994) 
  • Matt Pettinger of the Tampa Bay Lightning (Team Vancouver Island 1996)  
  • Chuck Kobasew of the Boston Bruins (Team Okanagan 1999)  
  • Dan Hamhuis of the Nashville Predators (Team North 1999)  
  • Duncan Keith of the Chicago Blackhawks (Team Okanagan 2000) 
  • Brent Seabrook of the Chicago Blackhawks  (Team Greater Vancouver 2001) 
  • Gilbert Brule of the Columbus Blue Jackets (Team Greater Vancouver 2003)  
  • Karl Alzner of the Washington Capitals (Team Greater Vancouver 2004)  
  • Kyle Turris of the Phoenix Coyotes (Team Greater Vancouver 2005)

For more information about the BC Hockey High Performance program, please visit the BC Hockey website at or email .



BC Hockey is a non-profit organization and member branch of Hockey Canada in charge of governing amateur hockey at all levels in British Columbia and the Yukon Territory.

Approximately 150 minor hockey associations, 55,000 players, 4,500 referees, 20,000 official volunteers and countless others make our great game possible here in Pacific Canada.



BC Hockey News

BC Hockey Locker Room (online store)

Events Calendar


Female AAA League
Female Program of Excellence
Major Midget League
Male Program of Excellence
Site Map

Google Play Store
Copyright © 2014 BC Hockey - Saanichton, BC