Hockey Canada Network |  Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Saskatchewan Hockey Association Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwest Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North
Call Us Now E-Mail Us Now
Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Apple Android Shopping Cart
BC Hockey Logo

News - Details

Team Sabres Female U18 BC Cup Champions
Sunday, April 26, 2009

Team Sabres captured the Female U18 BC Cup defeating Team Flyers 7-3.  The Female U18 BC Cup was held in Salmon Arm from April 23-26 at the Sunwave Centre.  The top 120 female Under 18 players have been invited to the event, with 46 players being selected to attend the Female Provincial Development Camp in the summer.  A statistical package for the event can be viewed on the BC Hockey website under the Female U18 section.

The Flyers jumped out to the quick start in the Championship game with Ashlynn Moore (Vancouver Island Zone) scoring two (2) minutes into the game.  Mid-way through the period the Sabres responded with two (2) goals four (4) minutes apart.  Nicole Lim (Greater Vancouver Zone) scored the first and Kayla Natarelli (Vancouver Island Zone) with the second.  The Flyers responded and tied the game at two (2) with a Stacey Duncan (North Zone) goal.  Before the first was over the Sabre’s Lindsay Audia (Kootenay Zone) restored the one (1) goal lead.  The Flyers came out strong to start the second period and at the 14 minute mark, Kaitlyn Zinn (Fraser Valley Zone) scored to tie the game at three (3).  The Sabre’s Mary Claire Geneau (Vancouver Island Zone) scored with two (2) minutes to play in the period to give her team the 4-3 lead heading into the second intermission.  The Sabres dominated the final period of play scoring three (3) unanswered goals.  Kayla Natarelli scored a pair and Audia added the third goal for the Sabres in the third period.

2009 Female BC Cup Final Standings















The Bronze Medal match had Team Canucks taking on Team Bruins.  The game turned into dual between the goaltenders.  After a scoreless opening period the Canuck’s Dani Robb (Vancouver Island Zone) scored mid-way through the period to give her team the 1-0 lead.  The Bruins pressed in the third period, but were unable to get one past the Canucks goaltender Lindsay Vandewater (Vancouver Island Zone).  The game ended 1-0 for the Canucks.

In the Consolation game Team Stars took on Team Sharks.  The teams exchanged goals in an exciting back and forth first period of hockey.  Robin Murphy (North Zone) scored for the Stars and Taylor Deputter (Fraser Valley Zone) for the Sharks.  The Star’s Taralynn Suzuki (Fraser Valley Zone) scored the only goal in the second period to give her team the 2-1 lead heading into the third period of play.  The third period turned into a classic back and forth match.  The Stars added to their lead early in the frame with a marker by Anna Kozniuk (Fraser Valley Zone), but this matched one (1) minute later by Deputter’s second goal of the game.  The Canucks regained their two (2) goal lead at the 10 minute mark with Kozniuk’s second goal of the game.  The Stars battled back and scored two (2) in a three (3) minute span to tie the game at four (4).  Alex Gowie (Okanagan Zone) scored the first and Sarah Casorso (Okanagan Zone) with the second.  The Canucks regrouped and Nicole Feeney (Vancouver Island Zone) scored to regain the lead for her team with two (2) minutes to play.  With the net empty and second remaining in the game Alex Yallouz (Greater Vancouver Zone) scored for the Stars to tie the game at five (5).  Overtime settled nothing, so a shootout was required.  After five (5) shooters it was tied at two (2), so it went to sudden death.  In the thirteenth round the Star’s Robin Murphy (North Zone) scored to give her team the 6-5 win.

The Female U18 BC Cup offers the top female players in the BC Hockey Female High Performance U18 Program the unique experience of competing with the best players in their age group from across the province. The objective of the Program is to enhance the overall performance of BC athletes, coaches and officials in high level sporting events. 

At the 2007 BC Cup the Female program adopted the Jamboree style format that the Male U17 program had been using.  Evenly distributed teams create a more competitive atmosphere allowing athletes to play with different people and allow evaluators to assess players in the fairest environment possible.

For more information about BC Hockey, please visit the BC Hockey website at or email .



BC Hockey is a non-profit organization and member branch of Hockey Canada in charge of governing amateur hockey at all levels in British Columbia and the Yukon Territory.

Approximately 150 minor hockey associations, 55,000 players, 4,500 referees, 20,000 official volunteers and countless others make our great game possible here in Pacific Canada.



BC Hockey News

BC Hockey Locker Room (online store)

Events Calendar


Female AAA League
Female Program of Excellence
Major Midget League
Male Program of Excellence
Site Map

Google Play Store
Copyright © 2014 BC Hockey - Saanichton, BC