Hockey Canada
East Kootenay
North Central
North West
Pacific Coast
Peace River
West Kootenay
BC Hockey Logo


BC Hockey is excited to hand out the 2023 Fred Heslop Minor Hockey Awards! These awards recognize five outstanding volunteers that make significant contributions to BC Hockey, their associations and communities. 

About the Fred Heslop Minor Hockey Awards: 

The Fred Heslop Minor Hockey Awards recognize five (5) individuals who have made significant contributions to BC Hockey, their Association and community. These are people who have enhanced hockey programs, gone beyond expectations and have made remarkable achievements.

The awards are named after past BC Hockey President and long-time volunteer, Fred Heslop. His involvement with BC Hockey spanned two (2) decades, serving the membership on the Executive Committee (now Board of Directors) from 1992 – 2006. The Trail, BC native served in many different roles including Officer at Large, Vice President, President and was chair of numerous committees. In 2007, BC Hockey awarded him the highest honour when he was presented with the Diamond Stick Award. Fred passed away in late 2013, leaving a legacy behind him.  


2023 Recipients:

Brendon Caron

Okanagan Mainline Amateur Hockey Association

Greater Vernon Minor Hockey Association

Brendon Caron took on the role of Female Director with Greater Vernon Minor Hockey Association (MHA) two seasons ago when his stepdaughter was playing at the U11 level. He has made a significant impact as the association’s female programming has grown considerably with an increase in the number of female teams at all levels across the association.  Brendon also coaches in the association, and helped coordinate two Esso Fun Day events this past season, which is an area of his involvement that he finds rewarding as it gives young players a fun and exciting introduction to the game.  Brendon’s efforts towards growing the game in his hockey community more than earned him a 2023 Fred Heslop Minor Hockey Award.

Mike Forward

North West District

Kitimat Minor Hockey Association

Mike Forward got involved with Kitimat Minor Hockey Association (MHA) when his oldest child, now a U15 player, first began playing hockey nine years ago. Ever since then, Mike, and his passion for helping players become the best versions of themselves on-and-off the ice, has been an integral part of the hockey community in Kitimat. He has stepped in and held many roles, including treasurer, safety person, communications officer, and a member of the executive board, a position he has held for the past six years. Mike also runs the association’s social media Facebook page, where he posts game highlights and recaps on a regular basis. This is something that players and parents in the association look forward to viewing after their games. Mike Forward’s commitment and dedication to minor hockey in Kitimat is why he is a worthy recipient of a Fred Heslop Minor Hockey Award.

Doug Geiger

Okanagan Mainline Amateur Hockey Association

Lumby Minor Hockey Association

Doug Geiger has been involved in hockey through the majority of his 68 years. Although, over the last number of years the Lumby, B.C. resident had taken a hiatus from the game. This season he was drawn back in by an advertisement he stumbled upon in the local newspaper. The Lumby Minor Hockey Association (MHA) was seeking a Referee-In-Chief and given his love for the game and his enormous amount of experience as an official Doug decided to apply for the opportunity. This ended up being a match made in heaven as Doug got back involved in the game he loved, and he helped grow the Lumby MHA’s officiating program from seven officials all the way to 22. Geiger also implemented a development program for young officials that provides on-ice mentorship throughout the season, and once comfortable, they are set free to officiate on their own. Doug attends nearly every game that his officials are working and provides reports to each official that contains positive reinforcements and areas of improvement. Doug’s impact was felt across the Lumby hockey landscape and is a very deserving recipient of a Fred Heslop Minor Hockey Award.

Sunny Khakh

Pacific Coast Amateur Hockey Association 

Burnaby Winter Club

Sunny Khakh has been involved with Burnaby Winter Club for over five years, ever since her son and daughter began playing in the association. As a team manager with many years of experience, Sunny played a key role in designing a program for first-time team managers, which has helped volunteers thrive in their new roles. This past season, Sunny helped organize the Burnaby Winter Club U13 A1 team to prepare for multiple events. This included a showcase at the University of Notre Dame in South Bend, Indiana, along with the 63rd Annual Quebec International Pee-Wee Hockey Tournament, one of the most well-known hockey tournaments in the world at the U13 level. A dedicated and well-respected member of the BWC community, Sunny is a deserving recipient of a 2023 Fred Heslop Minor Hockey Award.

Theresa Philips

North West District 

Vanderhoof Minor Hockey Association

For over a decade, Theresa Philips has been an integral part of the minor hockey landscape in Northern B.C., and got involved in female hockey when her two daughters picked up the game. Theresa expanded her involvement as a volunteer in 2019 further than the boundaries of her local Minor Hockey Association (MHA) in Vanderhoof when she took on the role of North Female Zone Lead, a position she still holds today. During Theresa’s long-standing tenure in hockey, she has seen many girls come through the minor hockey ranks and remain in the game after their playing days, an area that Theresa finds rewarding. With hopes to eliminate financial barriers in our game, Theresa and a friend started a used equipment bank in Vanderhoof, where 25 sets and over 50 individual pieces of equipment were distributed throughout her community during the 2022-23 season. Theresa’s dedication to the game of hockey in B.C. makes her a deserving winner of a 2023 Fred Heslop Minor Hockey Award.