Hockey Canada Network |  Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwest Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North
Call Us Now E-Mail Us Now
Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Apple Android Shopping Cart
BC Hockey Logo

News - Details

Whitehorse Huskies Take Home Coy Cup
Sunday, March 26, 2017

The Whitehorse Huskies won their first Coy Cup Championship on Saturday, April 1, 2017 with a 7-4 win over the Kelowna Sparta, earning the championship victory in front of a home crowd at Takhini Arena in Whitehorse.

Ted Stephens scored the winner for Whitehorse but Kelowna would push back after the Huskies made it 5-2 and would close the lead to 5-4. The Huskies prevailed with a pair of third period goals from Derek Klassen and Ted Stephens, into an empty net, to secure the championship win.

The Sparta were competing in their first Coy Cup and went through the round-robin undefeated and had a bye to the final. Whitehorse defeated Terrace 7-3 in the semi-final.

The Fort St. John Flyers had won the previous two Coy Cups.

The Coy Cup was donated to BC Hockey by Colonel Coy of the 50th Gordon Highlanders (now the 16th Scottish) of Victoria, BC.  It is emblematic of the Senior AA Amateur Hockey Championship of BC.  The first Coy Cup was awarded to the Enderby Hockey Club in the 1922-1923 season.

For more information about BC Hockey, please visit the BC Hockey website at or email or follow along through social media at,, or



BC Hockey is a non-profit organization and member of Hockey Canada, providing stewardship of amateur hockey at all levels in British Columbia and Yukon.

Approximately 150 minor hockey associations, 55,000 players, 4,500 referees, 20,000 official volunteers and countless others make our great game possible here in Pacific Canada.



BC Hockey News

BC Hockey Locker Room (online store)

Events Calendar


Female AAA League
Female Program of Excellence
BC Hockey AAA Leagues
Male Program of Excellence
Site Map

Copyright © 2014 BC Hockey - Saanichton, BC