Hockey Canada Network |  Hockey Canada B.C. Hockey Hockey Alberta Hockey Saskatchewan Hockey Manitoba Hockey Northwest Ontario Ontario Hockey Federation Hockey Eastern Ontario Hockey Quebec Hockey New Brunswick Hockey P.E.I. Hockey Nova Scotia Hockey Newfoundland Hockey North
Call Us Now E-Mail Us Now
Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Apple Android Shopping Cart
BC Hockey Logo

News - Details

Trinity Western University Claims BCIHL Title
Thursday, March 15, 2018

The Trinity Western University (TWU) Spartans captured their first BC Intercollegiate Hockey League (BCIHL) championship with a 4-1 victory over the Selkirk Saints. The Spartans took the best-of-three (3) series two (2) games to none (0).

Jarrett Fontaine scored twice and assisted on Florian Niedermaier's game winner to lead the Spartans to a decisive home ice series win after TWU had picked up a 5-1 victory in game one (1) just 24 hours earlier.

It was the third straight league final for the Spartans who were defeated by the University of Victoria Vikes last year and the Saints in 2016.

The title win is the first for Trinity Western since the BCIHL formed in 2006. They had been the only remaining BCIHL founding member not to lift the championship trophy, but now join the University of Victoria (2007, 2009, 2012, 2017), Selkirk College (2013, 2014, 2015, 2016) and Simon Fraser University (2008, 2010, 2011) on the list of winners.

For more information on the BCIHL, please visit their website at

For more information about BC Hockey, please visit the BC Hockey website at or email or follow along through social media at,, or



BC Hockey is a non-profit organization and member of Hockey Canada, providing stewardship of amateur hockey at all levels in British Columbia and Yukon.

Approximately 150 minor hockey associations, 55,000 players, 4,500 referees, 20,000 official volunteers and countless others make our great game possible here in Pacific Canada.



BC Hockey News

BC Hockey Locker Room (online store)

Events Calendar


Female AAA League
Female Program of Excellence
BC Hockey AAA Leagues
Male Program of Excellence
Site Map

Copyright © 2014 BC Hockey - Saanichton, BC