Hockey Canada
East Kootenay
North Central
North West
Pacific Coast
Peace River
West Kootenay
BC Hockey Logo


For Immediate Release
April 5, 2023

Saanichton, B.C
. - BC Hockey wants to give recognition to our participants who develop their academic and career aspirations, while at the same time nourishing their interest in hockey. Scholarships will be awarded to BC Hockey registered participants who apply and who best combine the qualifications set below.


BC Hockey scholarships are open to both players and officials. All players must be registered and in good standing with BC Hockey, or former members playing in the Western Hockey League (WHL) who are in their graduating year of high school. All officiating scholarship candidates must be registered and in good standing with BC Hockey, and be either in their graduating year of high school or already attending a post-secondary institution. 

Available Scholarships

Excellence & Extraordinary: $2,000
Awarded based on outstanding achievements both on the ice and in the classroom.
2021-22 Winners: Katherine (Katie) Liu (Burnaby MHA) and Sage Jull (Capital Region Female MHA)
Jeff Butler Scholarship: $1,000
Awarded in memory of the late Jeff Butler, who was fatally injured during a Junior A game in September 1985. Jeff was a dedicated young man with rare qualities of character and determination, and as such, the Jeff Butler Scholarship is awarded to a player who demonstrates academic, athletic and leadership qualities.
2021-22 Winner: Nathan Chu (Richmond Jets MHA)
Bruce Allison Scholarship: $1,000
This scholarship is awarded in memory of the late Bruce Allison of Richmond, B.C. Allison was BC Hockey's 26th president. He was instrumental in establishing and pursuing scholarship opportunities for members of BC Hockey and advocated the pursuit of educational goals through hockey excellence.
2021-22 Winner: Alex Oh (Richmond Jets MHA)
Ted Hargreaves Scholarship: $1,000
This scholarship is awarded in the memory of the late Ted Hargreaves of Nelson, B.C., who was an integral part of hockey development and coaching in British Columbia and across Canada. He also combined his passion for hockey with his artistic abilities, illustrating instructional manuals for Hockey Canada.
2021-22 Winner: Esther Boelema (Greater Vancouver Comets)
Jim Stirling Memorial Scholarship: $1,000
B.F. Lorenzetti is the insurance provider for Hockey Canada and its Branches. One of their objectives is to assist in the funding of young athletes and officials. In an effort to honor the contributions of long serving BFL colleague and friend Jim Stirling, BFL Canada has decided to change the name of the BFL Canada Risk and Insurance Scholarship program to the Jim Stirling Scholarship Program donated by BFL Canada.
2021-22 Winner: Samantha Kingcott (Capital Region Female MHA)

BC Hockey District Scholarships: $1,000
Awarded to players from each of BC Hockey's eight (8) Districts: Lower Mainland (2), Okanagan (2), Vancouver Island (2), East Kootenay (1), West Kootenay (1), North Central (1), North East/Yukon (1), North West (1)
2021-22 Winners:
  • Madison Roe (Windermere Valley MHA): East Kootenay
  • Nathan Medeiros (Nelson MHA): West Kootenay
  • Alicia Zhan (Burnaby Winter Club): Lower Mainland
  • Madigan Riplinger (Williams Lake MHA) North Central
  • Alyssa Maynard (Fort Nelson MHA) North East
  • Brooke Wandler (Kamloops MHA): Okanagan
  • Rory Sinden (Kerry Park MHA): Vancouver Island
BC Hockey Officiating Scholarships: $500
Hockey Canada Officiating Program (HCOP) Level 2 - 6 Officials are eligible for BC Hockey Officiating Scholarships. Scholarships will be awarded to BC Hockey officials who best combine the qualifications listed on the application form. The Officiating Committee will determine the number and amount of scholarships each season. BC Hockey wants to recognize officials who develop their academic career aspirations, at the same time growing their interest in officiating.
2021-22 Winners:
  • Blake Moore (Port Alberni Bombers)
  • Bryn McColl (Vancouver Thunderbirds MHA)
  • Taylor Knott (Quesnel MHA)
  • Ferdinand Tesang (Coquitlam MHA)
  • Andon Maynard (South Okanagan MHA)
  • Joaquin Mattick (Grand Forks MHA)

Vancouver Canucks Alumni Scholarships

Rich with history, the Vancouver Canucks Alumni Association engages and supports many communities throughout the province of B.C.
The Vancouver Canucks Alumni Association is made up of former National Hockey League (NHL) players, former Canucks coaches and staff, plus those who support the game of hockey in B.C. Close to 100 members call B.C. home, while another 75 live in parts of Canada, the United States and Europe.
BC Hockey is currently accepting applications for scholarships, including the five (5) Vancouver Canucks Alumni Scholarships. These include:
Dan Hamhuis Scholarship (North)
  • 2021-22 Winner: Shawn Fisher (Quesnel MHA)

Doug Lidster Scholarship (Okanagan)
  • 2021-22 Winner: Mason Ouchi (Summerland Steam)

Cesare Maniago Scholarship (Kootenays)
  • 2021-22 Winner: Jake Maniago (Greater Trail MHA)

Willie Mitchell Scholarship (Vancouver Island)
  • 2021-22 Winner: Theodore St. Denis (Peninsula Panthers)

Darcy Rota Scholarship (Lower Mainland)
  • 2021-22 Winner: Ryan Torok (Langley MHA)


Applications must be accompanied by the following:
  • Letter from the applicant's coach or referee-in-chief
  • Letter from the applicant's Minor Hockey Association (MHA) or league president
  • Letter from the applicant's school principal
  • A copy of the applicant's most recent transcript (high school or post-secondary)
The deadline to apply is: May 15, 2023

Click HERE for more information and to apply