Hockey Canada
East Kootenay
North Central
North West
Pacific Coast
Peace River
West Kootenay
BC Hockey Logo


For Immediate Release

April 16, 2024

Saanichton, B.C. - BC Hockey wants to give recognition to our participants who develop their academic and career aspirations, while at the same time nourishing their interest in hockey. Scholarships will be awarded to BC Hockey registered participants who apply and who best combine the qualifications set below.


BC Hockey scholarships are open to both players and officials. All players must be registered and in good standing with BC Hockey, or former members playing in the Western Hockey League (WHL) who are in their graduating year of high school. All officiating scholarship candidates must be registered and in good standing with BC Hockey, and be either in their graduating year of high school or already attending a post-secondary institution. 


Available Scholarships

Excellence & Extraordinary: $2,000

Awarded based on outstanding achievements both on the ice and in the classroom. Awarded to two participants in their graduating year of high school.

2022-23 Winners: Casey Bergen (Chetwynd & District MHA) and Wyatt Howell (Semiahmoo MHA)

Jeff Butler Scholarship: $1,000

Awarded in memory of the late Jeff Butler, who was fatally injured during a Junior A game in September 1985. Jeff was a dedicated young man with rare qualities of character and determination, and as such, the Jeff Butler Scholarship is awarded to a player who demonstrates academic, athletic and leadership qualities. Awarded to a participant in their graduating year of high school.

2022-23 Winner: Neala Gair (Capital Region Female MHA)

Bruce Allison Scholarship: $1,000

This scholarship is awarded in memory of the late Bruce Allison of Richmond, B.C. Allison was BC Hockey's 26th president. He was instrumental in establishing and pursuing scholarship opportunities for members of BC Hockey and advocated the pursuit of educational goals through hockey excellence. Awarded to a participant in their graduating year of high school.

2022-23 Winner: Rylan Hadden (Port Moody AHA)


Ted Hargreaves Scholarship: $1,000

This scholarship is awarded in the memory of the late Ted Hargreaves of Nelson, B.C., who was an integral part of hockey development and coaching in British Columbia and across Canada. He also combined his passion for hockey with his artistic abilities, illustrating instructional manuals for Hockey Canada. Awarded to a participant in their graduating year of high school.

2022-23 Winner: Alexis Kamiya (South Delta MHA)


Jim Stirling Memorial Scholarship: $1,000

B.F. Lorenzetti is the insurance provider for Hockey Canada and its Branches. One of their objectives is to assist in the funding of young athletes and officials. In an effort to honor the contributions of long serving BFL colleague and friend Jim Stirling, BFL Canada has decided to change the name of the BFL Canada Risk and Insurance Scholarship program to the Jim Stirling Scholarship Program donated by BFL Canada. Awarded to a participant in their graduating year of high school.

2022-23 Winner: Conner Turnbull (Ridge Meadows MHA)


BC Hockey District Scholarships: $1,000

Awarded to players from each of BC Hockey's eight (8) Districts: Lower Mainland (2), Okanagan (2), Vancouver Island (2), East Kootenay (1), West Kootenay (1), North Central (1), North East/Yukon (1), North West (1)

2022-23 Winners:

  • Koji Kasubuchi (North Shore Winter Club): Lower Mainland
  • Payton Lovell (Quesnel MHA): North Central
  • Cassandra Cebuliak (Whitehorse MHA): North East
  • Zachary Carlyle (Terrace MHA): North West
  • Reanne Muller (North Okanagan MHA): Okanagan
  • Rachel Lee (Vancouver Island Seals): Vancouver Island

BC Hockey Officiating Scholarships: $500

Hockey Canada Officiating Program (HCOP) Level 2 - 6 Officials are eligible for BC Hockey Officiating Scholarships. Scholarships will be awarded to BC Hockey officials who best combine the qualifications listed on the application form. The Officiating Committee will determine the number and amount of scholarships each season. BC Hockey wants to recognize officials who develop their academic career aspirations, at the same time growing their interest in officiating.

2022-23 Winners:

  • Ryan Fung (Port Moody AHA)
  • Otto Krieger (Cloverdale MHA)
  • Jaena McGarrigle (Richmond Ravens FHA)
  • David Statham (Richmond Jets MHA)
  • Trey Huculak (Kelowna MHA)
  • William Grant (Tri Port MHA)

Vancouver Canucks Alumni Scholarships

Rich with history, the Vancouver Canucks Alumni Association engages and supports many communities throughout the province of B.C.
The Vancouver Canucks Alumni Association is made up of former National Hockey League (NHL) players, former Canucks coaches and staff, plus those who support the game of hockey in B.C. Close to 100 members call B.C. home, while another 75 live in parts of Canada, the United States and Europe.
BC Hockey is currently accepting applications for scholarships, including the five (5) Vancouver Canucks Alumni Scholarships. These include:

Dan Hamhuis Scholarship (North)

  • 2022-23 Winner: Jayden Whitford (Fort St. John MHA)

Doug Lidster Scholarship (Okanagan)

  • 2022-23 Winner: Sam Zulyniak (Thompson Blazers)

Cesare Maniago Scholarship (Kootenays)

  • 2022-23 Winner: Gabriella Campbell (Grand Forks MHA)

Willie Mitchell Scholarship (Vancouver Island)

  • 2022-23 Winner: Regan Chaplin (Capital Region Female MHA)

Darcy Rota Scholarship (Lower Mainland)

  • 2022-23 Winner: Mitchell Kehler (Fraser Valley Thunderbirds)


BCEHL - Wilson's Transportation Scholarship: $1,000

Awarded to two BCEHL players in their graduating year of high school.

2022-23 Winners: Gillian Lapierre (Fraser Valley Rush) and Jordan Luk (Greater Vancouver Canadians)


Telus Legacy Scholarship: $2,500

Awarded to players in the BCEHL that recognizes their academic achievements and contributions to their region, community and team.

2022-23 Winners: Rachel Loewen (Northern Capitals) and Parker White (Cariboo Cougars)


Vancouver Foundation: Yallouz/Thibeault Scholarship: $1,000

Awarded to a graduating player from the BCEHL Female U18 league.

2022-23 Winner: Caitlyn Moore (Vancouver Island Seals)


Applications must be accompanied by the following:

  • Letter from the applicant's coach or referee-in-chief
  • Letter from the applicant's Minor Hockey Association (MHA) or league president
  • Letter from the applicant's school principal
  • A copy of the applicant's most recent transcript (high school or post-secondary)


The deadline to apply is: May 19, 2024